|(Permission is granted to print and redistribute this material
as long as this header and the footer at the end are included.)
1) HALACHAH: IS "GID HA'NASHEH" FORBIDDEN "B'HANA'AH?"
OPINIONS: The Gemara cites a argument between Tana'im whether it is prohibited to derive benefit from the Gid ha'Nasheh, which is prohibited to be eaten. Rebbi Shimon maintains that it is prohibited, because the Gid ha'Nasheh does not have the taste of meat and is therefore not included in the verse which permits deriving benefit from the edible parts of a Neveilah which are forbidden to be eaten. Rebbi Yehudah asserts that the Gid ha'Nasheh does have the taste of meat, and therefore it is included in the verse which permits having Hana'ah from the parts of a Neveilah. What is the Halachah regarding these two matters (i.e., deriving benefit from the Gid ha'Nasheh, and whether the Gid ha'Nasheh has the taste of meat or not)?